30 Shameless Days: SWEAT!

http://www.sweatblock.com

 This I do quite well.

I sweat. So much so that I keep a bar of deodorant in my glove compartment. I sweat. And 2-3 times a week at roller derby? I produce more salt water than the salt flats of Utah.

Three months into my new derby life, a girl next to me was smelling her gear (that makes her sound like a puppy after her tail, her gear – knee pads, elbow pads… gear!).

(I will segue into the next topic of 30 Shameless Days – Expose Something Messy You Normally Hide)

I grabbed my elbow pad, brought it to my nose and took a big sniff. It actually smelled… nice’ish! A more experienced girl looked at us smelling our gear and said “You know – you CAN wash those pads, right?” My jaw dropped. Wash my gear? I can do that? Everybody around me was grossed out awed I never washed my gear. Then my pads were being thrown all around “It DOES smell nice!”

I was off the hook, but still – 3 months of hard core practicing, sweating, grunting and wearing the same gear over and over sans visits to the laundromat… when 2 days later it happened – my junk got some bad funk. Was it jinxed by the shocking news my experienced pal brought on? During practice my hand came close to my face and there is was: bad odor. Quick to blame shift I looked around me to see who the stinky piglet was. But I was nowhere near anybody else. I was alone in my fog of B.O.

*****

Other bloggers who are doing this 30 days of shame thing have exposed pictures of their messy desk, or a messy linen closet… I can’t do that because you would not believe how I keep my stuff! I’m so anal tidy about how I put my stuff away! I ripped my entire DVD collection! Of course my spice rack and underwear are impeccably orderly!

8 thoughts on “30 Shameless Days: SWEAT!”

  1. ummmmm…elbows sweat?

    That doesn't sound right. Your elbow pads were nice smelling until 2 days after everyone smelled them. Clearly there is a jealous stinky elbow wench in your midst.

    Like

It's not a monologue if you leave me a comment.

