Ringing in the New Year

Taken from INSIDE. It's too cold out there!
Taken from INSIDE. It’s too cold out there!

There’s always too much pressure surrounding January 1st. It’s just too much. Too many expectations for a better year. Change. New beginnings. Self improvement.

Bleh.

There’s been a medley of sad news and sad affairs close to me. I won’t even dip into what’s happening around the world. But there is pain close to home. I have zero teflon on my skin. Everything sticks. If somebody I love is in pain, then I am in pain. It’s as easy as that. Deadly disease for a dear old friend, romantic break-up and heartbreaks.

Although I could easily look at all of it with a different perspective, with the escape of a “oh well… it could be a lot worse!” Because – duh – it could always be worse.

But thinking of how much worse it or anything could be: just doesn’t fix it for me.

It could be worse… or it could be better. I just want my loved ones to be happy. Is that too much to ask? Can THAT be my new year’s resolution? If I love you, then wham you’ll be happy. End of story.

No matter the shit, the heartache, the state of your health – you whom I love will be happy. You will be at peace with yourself. But wait, there’s more! You will love yourself. You will look into the mirror and smile that special smile you reserve for that special person.

I want you to start easy and repeat after me: I AM HAPPY. The rest will follow.

8 thoughts on “Ringing in the New Year”

  1. happiness is inside you, you just have to open your eyes to the world around you and it comes shining through, sometimes washed with tears so that it will be brighter, but it is always there, waiting for you to catch it.

    Like

  2. I also wish I could make all those who I love and care about happy just by me being happy, which I am I am very happy over all………….I have a good life and like to see those around me as happy with their lives as I am with mine

    Like

  3. Hey there! I’m sorry you have to start the year out this way. Hopefully, you will soon be happy!
    I’ll be back soon to catch up…(can’t believe I was gone for so long).

    Like

  4. I am sorry there is pain around you. I feel some of it, as well. Fear of change. Fear of stepping into the unknown. Fear of not measuring up. Fear of expectations not met. What matters is the heart. We are all just a speck of dust in a vast nothingness. The weight of our individual existence is felt only by a very, very few other specks of dust. And that weight is carried by the heart. Desire, passion, intent, motivation, capability, deflection, acceptance, strength, softness are all born from that thing within us that makes us human- and that is the only place we matter, to ourselves and to anyone else. Love cannot conquer all, but your heart can.

    Like

  5. I wish you and your family and friends good health,happiness and plenty of love for the new year and every year yet to come
    Hugs xx

    Like

It's not a monologue if you leave me a comment.

