Today I’m Five

fiveToday I’m five.

I will make mistakes that I will without a doubt repeat. Over and over. Again and again. I will learn one painful repeated error at a time. I will be tempted to tattoo myself with lessons learned. Ingrain that pain into my skin. With a needle screaming like a jackhammer dropping ink, one word at a time.

Today I’m five.

I will skin my knee by falling in love with the worst. I will knowingly follow the big bad wolf assuming I can change him and tame his teeth.

Today I’m five.

I will ignore my mother’s warnings. I will wander by the edge of the cliff. I will step on broken glass. I will leave the handle over the stove as the pot boils oil splattering on my uncovered toes. And I will pick up strangers while driving alone.

Today I’m five.

I will grow. I will bloom. I will blossom and become a woman. I will one day be the source of inspiration as others have been for me.

Today I’m five and I will play forever.

…………………………………………
Storch-BadgeJoin Eric Storch’s Master Class. This week Marian thought long and hard before coming up with an opening sentence. She chose Emma Donoghue’s “Room“for this week’s class. The first sentence is: Today I’m five.

20 thoughts on “Today I’m Five”

  1. Love this. It reminds me of A.A. Milne’s Now We Are Six (one of my favs)

    When I was one,
    I had just begun.
    When I was two,
    I was nearly new.
    When I was three,
    I was hardly me.
    When I was four,
    I was not much more.
    When I was five,
    I was just alive.
    But now I am six,
    I’m as clever as clever.
    So I think I’ll be six
    now and forever.

    Like

  2. I love this! It also reminds me of A.A. Milne’s Now We Are Six (one of my favs)

    When I was one,
    I had just begun.
    When I was two,
    I was nearly new.
    When I was three,
    I was hardly me.
    When I was four,
    I was not much more.
    When I was five,
    I was just alive.
    But now I am six,
    I’m as clever as clever.
    So I think I’ll be six
    now and forever.

    Like

  3. We are on our own and will find our way no matter how much warning we receive. It’s the only way to live our lives to our fullest extent. A beautiful portrayal of that attitude.

    Like

It's not a monologue if you leave me a comment.

