My Commute to Work

Working from home has so many advantages and benefits.

It’s now (as I sit here and write this line) 8:52 am. I want to start working at 9:00am like any regular worker. I’m wearing my sweatpants, my hair is not yet brushed, and I have a blanket covering my legs. It’s cold in the boat.

Yet, I will be ready to work by 9 am (depending on how much time I spend on this post).

THE COMMUTE:

  1. I lean over the couch the pull out a board from under the couch pillow;
  2. I sit back with my laptop over the board;
  3. I fix the pillows behind my back.

And voila. That’s it. The traffic wasn’t too crazy, thanks for asking.

WATER COOLER CHAT:

I know what you’re thinking. One of the joys of work is hanging out at the water cooler and talking about last night’s episode of The Walking Dead. My water cooler is replaced by Facebook. It’s the same, I just don’t get to see my colleagues in person. And trust me, there are times when it’s best that I don’t. I’m talking to you – you who just stomped your cigarette right out the door and walked right in dragging that last cigarette smell with you…

WORK BASED EXPENSES:

My office does not have a dress code. My office does not have women sporting a $1,000 designer outfit making me feel shabby in my H&M blazer. My office does not do regular team lunches at the gourmet restaurant where the tip alone would cost a week’s grocery. My office is not 20 miles away where just to get myself to work daily will cost my gas guzzling ride $75 of fuel per week. No overhead. Just my old laptop, the internet via my phone’s tether, and a notepad for the occasional note taking.

Oopsie! It’s 9:02. Am I late? Not really, I bill by the hour of what I really actually do, so we’re cool. I get to finish this while some of you are probably still stuck in traffic, white-knuckling it as you’re being cutoff by an angry driver who’s just as late as you are…

Have a great day at work! And remember, while you’ll be waiting in line to enter the freeway on your way back home, I’ll most likely be pouring my 2nd post-work cocktail laughing with my BFF.

14 thoughts on “My Commute to Work”

  1. My daughter says since her partner has started working from home he eats a bit more as he can just walk into the kitchen and make himself something. Although he gets annoyed when the girls wander in and out of his office, it was their playroom and now it’s his office and they are not happy about that.

    Like

  2. Funny… we’re supposed to get a major snow storm tomorrow, so I’ll probably work from home, myself. I like it as a change of pace, but I’d hate it as a regular thing. I’d miss the nutjobs I work with …

    Like

  3. LONG LIVE RETIREMENT. YOU VOLUNTEER, DO THE THINGS YOU LIKE, WHEN YOU LIKE, AND IF IT DOES NOT MEET YOUR STANDARDS OR CRITERIA, OR EXPECTATIONS, MAYBE YOU STOP LIKING IT AND THEN YOU STAY HOME AND DO YOUR OWN THING

    Like

  4. AND NOW THERE IS A GREAT COMMOTION ON MY STREET! THE SUB=ATOMIC SNOWPLOW ICEBREAKER IS CLEARING THE STREET, WIDENING IT, AND PROBABLY CRACKING UP THE CURB. HOPE THEY DON’T BLOW THE ICE BITS IN MY DRIVEWAY AND BREAK THE FRAME ON THE GARAGE DOOR LIKE THEY DID 2 YEARS AGO. RETIREMENT LETS ME ENJOY LOOKING AT THE BLUE COLLARS IN WINTER GEAR HA HA HA

    Like

It's not a monologue if you leave me a comment.

