Weekly Photo Challenge: Perspective… or the Deceiving Eye

Perspective. I love this theme. Cameras and photographers can really shape your opinion on a subject with cropping, editing, and basic tweaking of an image.

IMG_20130324_024607-001

Take for example this rooftop dome. The tile work is outstanding. It should be sitting atop something similar to the TajMahal! But no, it sits above an abandoned building.

This picture screams I wanted to but I gave up.

I wanted
to be grand
I wanted
to be a palace
I wanted
to be something
spectacular…
But I gave
up
on my dreams,
to just be
me.

………………………………….
wordpressThis week’s Daily Post Photo Challenge is PERSPECTIVE.It’s all about how an image can convince you the subject is not what it really is.

Categories Photography, Writing PromptTags , , ,

22 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Perspective… or the Deceiving Eye

  1. There used to be a mosque like that near my old apartment. They’d started building it, but only got as far as the basic outline before they ran out of money. What amazed me, though, was that even though it was a building site, somebody still came down and swept it every day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They sweep? Still now, an abandoned project? Such pride is impressive.

      Like

  2. Well done – agree, you’d expect something magnificent under the dome. Not so much 🙂

    Like

    1. I like that: “you’d expect something magnificent under the dome” 🙂

      Like

  3. vastlycurious.com 08/03/2014 — 4:36 pm

    Great surprise perspective!

    Like

  4. Love the accompanying verse!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. *copycat* – meow! 😉

        Like

  5. But… but… just being you… that *IS* grand. That *IS* spectacular.

    Like

  6. What a stark contrast between the dome and the rest of the temple. Wonderful choice for the theme.

    Like

  7. I saw tilework like that in Thailand so it bought back happy memories.
    I think that “just being me” is pretty grand too

    Like

It's not a monologue if you leave me a comment.