Feeling Random Again Which Means You’re in Luck!

Embed from Getty Images

Seagulls and foghorns: two sounds I never get tired of hearing.

***

Dave posted recently on Opinionated Man a post about Aspirations. Reading that post reminded me of my own personal goals. It seems as though I obviously keep forgetting what they are every time I apply for a job. I don’t want to make sandwiches, or be a cashier, or worst yet (don’t ask) a mature female bikini model. I want to work with my husband and earn income from my boat. Thanks Dave!

***

We’ve just invested a rather substantial amount (substantial to two unemployed peeps like us) to cover a course towards getting a captain’s license. I’m now calling my husband Capt Leo. Launching soon is a brand new chartering business in San Diego. Thanks Dave!

***

Now that I’m not applying for jobs all day long, I have so much free time on my hands. Free time that allowed me the luxury of sailing to a nearby surfing hood, where we dropped the anchor for a few days. I have a sunburn and less money in my savings. But like me, life is short. Enjoy it, get only the essentials (great Dumb & Dumber quote) and drink beer. Lots of it. But the cheap kind, like Tecate.

***

It’s my birthday in about two weeks. I’ll send you my address for all the gifts you’re suddenly tempted to splurge on me (how’s my subliminal message working on you?)

***

Is this a mullet?
Is this a mullet?

During a 3-day safety stop at an anchorage (crazy winds, and even crazier swells) I cut my hair out of sheer boredom. I suddenly felt the urge for bangs, and it made sense to do so as I was in a slight beer haze (I’m a cheap date, one beer does it) and a tilted boat (it tilts in high winds, even when anchored, I bet you didn’t know that). And how I have a near mullet. I over-cut the bangs. Lucky for me Capt Leo likes it.

***

I have two Facebook accounts, one goofy for my online junk and roller derby, the other more serious and (quote-unquote) professional. For some odd reason they have totally different interfaces, and I never approved of or clicked on anything asking for a different design. Mark Zuckerberg, you crazy guy you…

***

If you go see a doctor for a CDL physical, it’s $120. If you go see a doctor for a physical to obtain a captain’s license, it’s $130. If you go see a doctor to do both exams simultaneously with form on hand, pre-filled it’s $250. Same body. Same physical. Same tests. Double the price. Michael Douglas had it right in Falling Down.

***

I’ll be skating in a parade this weekend. If you’re in San Diego, come see me, I’ll be the goofy one dressed in green with a huge smile on her face waving at everybody! I’ve never been to a parade I was not a part of…

9 thoughts on “Feeling Random Again Which Means You’re in Luck!”

  1. Love the plan to do boat charters, I almost applied to work yacht crew myself a few years ago. Good luck. P.S. I like the bangs too, or fringe as we call it here 🙂

    Like

  2. Maybe you’ll get this comment, (I just discovered that “comment” and “cement” are both suggested when comment is misspelled, since I was going to complain about the slowness of TelCel on the boat right now, “cement” is more appropriate, I think) I want to tell you how much I wish I could stand and jump up and down and wave as you go by in the parade!
    Looking forward to reading about the adventures of Captain Leo and …………….???

    Like

  3. That is NOT a “shiteous mullatous” haircut! It would have to be all business in the front and party in the back. Your party runs all the way down the sides, too, with no chop shop above the ears. Enjoy the parade!

    Like

It's not a monologue if you leave me a comment.

