Self Perception and Being Badass

Self perceptionYesterday I made a remark in regards to how the word maroon reminded me of Bugs Bunny. Then I stumbled upon the picture to the left on Pinterest. Then I put the two together. And then I came up with this association.

How do you see yourself, and do you ever wonder how far it is from how others perceive you? Does it matter? Is how we feel inside the most important, or does how others see us influence us so much that it also takes over our own self perception?

I want to know…

……………………………………………………..
Image credits:
1. The roller derby image
2. Bugs Bunny

34 thoughts on “Self Perception and Being Badass”

  1. When I was in my last job, I had to ask people to fill out questionnaires about how they perceived me. I was a little shocked to discover they all thought I was very confident, and they were more shocked to discover that it’s all an act 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m sure you exude way more confidence than you realize! I’m always fascinated by how confident people see me too, isn’t it astonishing? I love finding out how people perceive me, and it’s always a great self-esteem booster too!

      Like

  2. For me it depends on the setting. At work, I see myself as a bumbling idiot. Oddly enough, most of the people I work with are always telling me how efficient I am. At the very least, I’m convinced I’m good at making them think I know what I’m doing.

    At the gym, though, I see myself as the old, fat guy, while the other guys there see me as “just one of the guys”.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Very thought provoking question. My goal has always been to get the two, who I am and how I’m perceived as close together as possible. If I am being authentic to my true self and learning to express, share and communicate that I hope I am seen as I truly am. My guess is your a little of both images above.

    Like

    1. I do believe I am a little bit of both… Sometimes I wonder if it isn’t time to start shifting more towards the left side. Am I not fully grown into a woman yet? 😉 I like this talk of authentic self, it needs to be pursued more…

      Like

  4. I always loved it when BB said “What a maroon…” – nothing else even comes close! I think there comes a time when we all care a little less about what others in general think but put way more emphasis on what a few important people think of us : talk about being stuck between a rock and a hard place.

    Like

    1. Right??? Nothing could ever come even close to such a beautiful statement. What a maroon… and to think some people always assume I just don’t know language enough to realize what I’m saying when I say that! Sheesh.

      Like

    1. Maybe as soon as we call ourselves awesome others say “Now hold on, you’re just average.” But if we tell others how average we feel then they defend us “You average? Are you crazy? You’re freakin awesome!!!”

      Like

  5. I know how I see myself is probably very different to how people see me. And different people see me differently to other people.
    I am working on not caring what people think, what I think is really the most important thing

    Like

    1. Not that I care, really. I think others often have a better perception of us. My ex once told me “if you could see yourself in the same way I see you, there would be no self-esteem issues”. I often think that our image reflects our true self which is why some (and by some I mean the douchebags of this world will never get it) really do see us for who we really are. And that is often a far better image than how we may feel inside.

      Like

  6. There is an entire branch of psychology concerned with the relations of self-perception and the perception of the self through others. From what I’ve gathered, if those two are grossly incongruous, you’re either a narcissist or a narcissistic codependent person. Both are quite difficult to deal with. I don’t believe you are in either category

    Like

    1. I think it comes back to when I took a hip-hop dance class where attitude is more important than the actual moves. When I would do some of the dance steps in front of the whole class I’d have them falling over with laughter, yet in my mind I was all evil hip-hop bitch, but to them I was a character from the 3 Stooges. As a child I opted for the class clown because I was crappy in sports, I wasn’t among the pretty ones, and I was far from a brain so humor became my thing. It still is, but now that I play roller derby I want to be feared on the track. It’s hard to be afraid of somebody who fully embodies the clown nose to the core. :o)

      Like

  7. I can imagine that the way I see myself, and the way others see me, is very different. To the point that I may not recognize Me if I saw through other’s eyes.

    Like

      1. I have wondered if I could see through someone else’s eyes if everything would be different… colors, shapes, the sky, grass… everything. Is my blue, your red?

        Like

        1. I have often wondered exactly that too. If my beautiful your ugly? I mean, if one person’s trash is another person’ treasure, then why not, why wouldn’t everything be different through somebody else’s eyes? I watched the Phonebooth movie with a friend. I cried my eyes out, totally lost all self control. It’s not even a sad movie, she kept looking at me asking me if I was ok. I was watching it with my eyes, my heart, my life experiences, and my regrets. My friend had lived a life quite sheltered from regret. She couldn’t even guess at the taste of it. It’s like describing color to a blind person who’s never seen light.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Well, what am I to think….Tears come easily when our emotional side is hooked. Is it because someyhing stirs up moments that we have not thought of in a while because they were painful ones?

            Like

    1. I just hope you can forgive yourself one day… if not I have a whip I can sell you, but whipping yourself in the back is really tricky. I’m hoping you’ll get bored with the failed attempts and admit defeat by just giving yourself a break.

      Like

      1. I think I have admitted defeat. It sucks. Still kinda hurts. But I have things I need to do for me and my children, and I’m starting to focus on those things.

        Like

        1. I’ve hurt some of the best people in the world, in the worst kind of way. I know where you’re coming from. And I also know the rainbow at the end is amazing, it comes with Skittles, and chocolate, and imaginary puppies.

          Like

          1. Your rainbow – Your TREATS! That’s the rainbow rule. And I don’t even like Skittles, but they’re fun to say, and help lure nice people back into my life.

            Like

  8. I see myself as someone who is constantly trying to, but futilely, create something that I will see myself being proud of (except my son…he’s my success. LOL), while I don’t usually bother myself over how others see me. Though once, one of my buddies gave me the nick “spiritual leader”, which was translated (in our language) as “the guy who boost the morale of everyone”, and that was something nice for me. 😀

    Like

  9. What a Maroon!
    I loved that word we used to use it all the time.
    Your question is going to require some thought. I’m not very introspective in my old age.

    Like

  10. In my professional life, I like to paint myself as the quiet observer, watching and waiting for opportunity to act/speak, and even then, use my body language to speak… The less said, the better, actions are louder than words. What I’m really on the lookout for is chemistry with people… Could that person be cool? Could I open up to them and be understood? Once I find chemistry with people, my demeanor changes, I am talkative, joking, sly, helpful. The opinions of me, how they see me, the special people with which I share chemistry, these opinions of me are the only ones I care about. I guess I’m hedging my bets, protecting myself, but if I tried to care, or even consider, about what everyone thinks of me, how they see me, I would be overloaded with the political juggling act.

    Like

It's not a monologue if you leave me a comment.

