making the world a better place

What If…

…you’re the worst at what you do in the whole world?

Do you ever wonder that? Put aside the whole “think positive” philosophy, because no matter what, someone has to be the best, and someone has to be the worst. And I ask again, what if that worst person is you, and you are the bottom of the totem pole?

Don’t get me wrong. I’m a total positive thinker. Not only is the glass half full, but I’m thrilled to have anything at all in that glass! I can psyche myself through any hardship and challenge. I’m there for you to lean on, yell at, cry on, and even push when you need to just push. I’ll be the one to answer the phone when you’re told you just get one call. I’ll know what to do, and I sure as hell won’t let you down.

But I also know my failures and my weaknesses. Oh trust me, I know them, and I know them well for I beat myself up for them so much. So much that sometimes I forget my own beauty. I know, it’s a hard thing to forget! (Insert canned laughter from a 80s sitcom)

Roller derby. I’m the worst in my team. Was the worst in my previous team. Am still the worst in my current team. Just stating the facts.

“You’re the weakest link, bye-bye!”

Now what if you were given the opportunity to do whatever you wanted to do in order to make the world a better place? What would you do?

Would being the worse at something have an influence on what you chose to do to change the world? What if I was given that opportunity? Actually, we all have that opportunity right now. So I’ll stop talking in what if’s.

What do I want to do to make the world a better place?

And what if what I wish to do to make the world a better place, also happens to be something I’m the worst at? I’m not talking roller derby. I’ve made some decisions about that sport… I’m talking about something that I’ve always considered a life goal, a passion, a dream. Something for which I have trained hard. Something that was actually my very first paycheck ever! But again, what if…

And not only that, but what if this dream of mine was my dream from the past me? Not the current me. Or the me of tomorrow. Who is the me of tomorrow? And how do I know the difference between the actual me-to-be vs the self-perceived-me based on my past?

Have I lost you yet? I know I’m confusing myself.

Enough with the madness. Are YOU doing your best to change the world and make it a better place? Are you leaving a positive imprint from your existence? How do you know? I mean, beyond being a good parent, being nice to neighbors, blah blah blah, beyond all the niceties in the world how have you improved this planet we live on?

And if you don’t know, isn’t it time you started getting a move on?

6 thoughts on “What If…”

  1. Isn’t the beauty that by being sincerely nice to (most) everyone we are already making the world a better place? Or is it really sad that so many people need to fake being nice and just bitch around behind your back?

    Like

  2. I always say I do the best I know how to do,as I learn better ways of doing things I will do better for I can only do what I know and give things the best shot I can………………unless I am feeling lazy then you are out of luck

    Like

  3. The good thing about being the weakest is you have nothing to lose so why not give it your best. Right?

    This reminds me something I watched some time back. The hero was trying to calm down all the people he was supposed to save (even though they were just about ready to lynch him) & he basically said to them that it was because they were always the weakest ones they were able to learn, in their own way, to hold their own against enemies who always seemed much stronger. They never realized it but they became strong in in their own right.

    Where was I going with all this? Umm… I think I’ve lost myself now.

    Like

  4. I would talk everyone I could find who was on the ledge into coming in from the ledge. And I would befriend the friendless. You’re not friendless, I know, but I would be your friend, as well.

    Like

  5. I have learn several just right stuff here. Definitely
    price bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how a lot effort you put to create this kind of wonderful informative web site.

    Like

It's not a monologue if you leave me a comment.

