There’s a New Writing Prompt In CyberTown: !ndieChicks Lit

“I just wanna sl-zzzz” said the insomniac.

……………………………….

indiechicks lit sitelogoWord count: 6.5

A new prompt program: yay! The prompt: “You’re given a superpower for only 2 hours. What is it, and what do you do with it?”

Is my superpower mundane? Was this gift wasted? I think not, because this morning after hours and hours of tossing and turning I did wake up. That means I fell asleep. Sleeping to those who suffer from insomnia is a wonderful superpower.

On this note – do pay a visit to the IndieChicks’ new venture: IndieChicks Lit. On this site you will find amazing resources and oodles of blogging tips. *giddy* And a book tour which – if you’re lucky enough, you will be chosen to host. Yay you! And you know this site is amazing because it is brought to you by the world wide web’s badassery finest – The IndieChicks!

Questions about the story for you:

  1. Was it clear after reading the prompt that my desired superpower was to sleep?
  2. Was it clear my wish was instantly granted?
  3. Did this story need more words to fulfill the prompt?

* Rich from Brainsnorts (who is one of my writing mentors, but don’t tell him I told you that, it’ll get to his head) always ends his fictional posts with story building questions. I’ve been meaning to do this with mine as well, it helps the writer improve his or her craft. I know – kinda lame choosing this 6.5-word story to start with the program… Why put off good things in life?

Categories Short Story, Writing PromptTags , , , ,

17 thoughts on “There’s a New Writing Prompt In CyberTown: !ndieChicks Lit

  1. 1 – Yes.
    2 – No. There was no transition from the tossing and turning, to getting the superpower and falling asleep.
    3 – Yes. The words you use are good, but there’s no buildup or emotional punch.
    (I’m not saying I can do any better by any stretch. it’s just how I read it.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. *hangs head in shame*

      I keep trying to find MY 6-word story but I’ll never be at the emotional and gut wrenching level of Hemingway’s “For sale. Baby shoes. Never worn.”

      Thanks Guap – it’s always nice to hear from you.

      Like

      1. Ha! It’s a craft and you’re working on it.
        You already have the natural ability.
        (I know. I’ve read your stuff.)

        Like

  2. Short and straight to the point! I liked it but it made me want more because of how short it was!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. indiechrystal 03/04/2014 — 10:52 am

    1. Yep. Though I did have to read it more than once to get that was it for the prompt lol.
    2. Yes.
    3. I don’t think so. The beauty of prompts is that we all get to interpret them the way we’d like 🙂

    As an insomniac I would totally take sleeping as a superpower! Thanks so much for pimping out Indie Chick Lit and I’d love to see more prompts from you in the future!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. About the no. 1 answer – I know! The bottom part is so much bigger than the core story part that it’s just lost… I kept trying different formats to make it stand out more 🙂

      Prompts are awesome, and I’m glad IC has jumped in the game which was why it felt natural to pimp it out. We should look into joint collaborations with Studio30Plus where we also have a weekly prompt, something fun could be done there…

      Like

    2. p.s. insomnia is a bitch.

      Like

  4. I would love that superpower too, but for much longer than two hours.

    Like

    1. Two hours is bliss after endless tossing and turning! 🙂

      Like

  5. AccordingtoJewels 03/04/2014 — 3:55 pm

    I wasted my super powers on saving an imprisoned mother because my crippled father couldn’t. DAMN IT! I knew there was something I was missing…sleep! Well done, Marr and great questions.
    yes
    yes
    less is always more…you did great.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Today, I went to the beachfront with my children.

    I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter
    and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She
    put the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside
    and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back!

    LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had to tell someone!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I liked it. (short story, short comment) 🙂

    Like

  8. I think it was spot on, when I look at your questions.

    As a former insomniac, sleep is the fucking bomb. I always think of Palahniuk’s Fight Club, about how insomnia is not really sleeping and not really being awake either. So accurate. I’m happy I have that superpower back.

    Like

  9. I see you share interesting things here, you can earn some extra money,
    your blog has big potential, for the monetizing method, just search in google – K2 advices how to monetize a website

    Like

It's not a monologue if you leave me a comment.

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close